SB 630: Constitutional Amendment/Citizens-Only Voting will add much-needed clarity to the North Carolina Constitution, affirming that only United States citizens have the right to vote in our elections.

If passed, the bill would propose a constitutional change that would require a vote of the people. The change would state that “Only a citizen of the United States” who is otherwise qualified may vote in North Carolina. It would replace more ambiguous language currently in the state constitution.

Who may vote is a fundamental question in our system of government, and citizens should not have to be concerned that ambitious politicians or activist judges could dilute their votes by granting the franchise to noncitizens. However, that is what is happening across the United States, including in the nation’s capital. The citizens-only voting amendment would protect the power of citizens’ votes in unequivocal language.

Voter ID is a basic election security measure that has broad public support. The Absentee Ballot Voter ID Amendment would not change current practice because the voter ID for absentee ballot law in place now would satisfy that constitutional change. However, it has two benefits. First, it treats all voters the same by requiring ID no matter how they vote. It would also make it more difficult to sue in state court based on a claim that the ID requirement is unconstitutional.

The Constitutional Amendment to Cap State Income Tax Rate at 5.0% would place on the November 2024 ballot a vote to change the state constitution’s current cap on the income tax rate of 7.0% down to 5.0%. The current flat personal income tax rate is 4.5% and the corporate income tax rate is 2.5%.

Civitas Action believes in strongly protecting North Carolina taxpayers against future legislatures’ desire to raise taxes to fuel their spending habits.

Civitas Action believes the vote for freedom is YES on SB 630!

Civitas Action is a 501(c)(4) non-profit that educates and informs North Carolinians on policy issues and the actions of their elected officials.